South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2008 Results Archive > April 26, 2008

Gibbs Scores First SBS Win

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. - Dude Gibbs became the newest winner in the Barkhouser Late Model Stock Car Division at South Boston Speedway Saturday night with his victory in the Earth Day 150.

The win was Gibbs' first win in 10 years, his last win coming in a Pure Stock Division race at Langley Speedway in Hampton, Va. in 1998.

Gibbs won the Last Chance qualifying race that preceded the season-ending 300-lap NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division here at South Boston Speedway in October of last year. That victory, however, does not count toward track feature race wins.

Gibbs held off veteran driver Eddie Johnson of Midlothian, Va. in a three-lap sprint to the finish that followed the last of the race's two caution flags. His margin of victory was .584 second.

David Quackenbush of Lorton, Va. finished third, Dustin Storm of Huntington, Md. finished fourth and Jason Dickerson of Ruckersville, Va. rounded out the top five finishers.

Daniel Watkins III of Angier, N.C., Wayne Ramsey of Amherst, Va., Mark Cook of Bridgewater, Va., Jonathan Bailey of Keysville, Va. and Timmy Nice of Powhatan, Va. rounded out the top ten finishers.

In addition to scoring his first career win at South Boston Speedway, Gibbs also scored his first South Boston Speedway pole position win.

Gibbs led all 150 laps, and had everything going his way after a multi-car crash in the first turn on the second lap of the race eliminated a handful of cars, including that of Gibbs' teammate, Justin Johnson of Durham, N.C., the winner of the track's season-opening race.

When the race restarted on the eighth lap with Ramsey in second place, Quackenbush in third, Bailey in fourth and Johnson in fifth, Gibbs quickly opened up a sizeable lead.

Quackenbush took over second place when Ramsey was forced to pit under green on the 29th lap: as a result of lug nuts having backed off of his right rear wheel.

Johnson got past Quackenbush to take second place on lap 47 and held that spot the rest of the night.

Gibbs had a huge lead on the field, but saw it erased when Bailey spun on lap 143 to bring out the race's second caution period. The mishap closed up the field but Gibbs was able to hang on and take the win.

Gibbs averaged 76.101 mph in the race that took 47 minutes to complete.


Barkhouser Late Model
Pos # Driver
1 54 Dude  Gibbs
2 57 Eddie Johnson
3 91 David Quackenbush
4 16 Dustin Storm
5 19 Jason  Dickerson
6 30 Daniel Watkins
7 51 Wayne  Ramsey
8 38 Mark Cook
9 89 Jonathan Bailey
10 52 Timmy Nice
11 44 Justin Johnson
12 80 Leigh Caruthers
13 3 Austin Dillon
14 8 Josh Oakley
15 88 Chris Hairfield

Anderson, Willis Take Limited Sportsman Division Wins

Defending track champion Bruce Anderson of South Boston, Va. won the first of the scheduled Twin 50-lap races for the Limited Sportsman Division. Danny Willis Jr. of Cluster Springs, Va. won the rain-shortened second race, which was stopped after 39 laps due to rain.

The wins by Anderson and Willis have given the track three different winners in the season's first three races.

In the first race, Willis finished .395-second behind Anderson with Lee Pulliam of Semora, N.C., Steve Collins of Clover, Va. and Brian Pembleton of Amelia, Va. rounding out the top five finishers.

Pulliam started on the pole in the first race and led the first 36 laps before Anderson grabbed the lead. Once in front, Anderson was able to hold the top spot the rest of the way.

In the nightcap, Pulliam took the runner-up spot with Pembleton, Terri Marks of Capron, Va. and Wesley Green of Moseley, Va. rounding out the top five finishers.

Anderson finished ninth in the nightcap after having been involved in a crash on the 11th lap.

Willis started third in the second race but bolted into the lead on the opening lap and held the lead the rest of the way. With rain beginning to sprinkle and knowing the end of the race was likely near, Pulliam attempted to take the lead from Willis in the third turn on the 38th circuit.

Pulliam's car got sideways, made contact with Willis' car and then spun, leaving Willis by himself in the lead.


Limited Sportsman Race 1
Pos # Driver
1 9 Bruce Anderson
2 23 Danny Willis, Jr
3 3 Lee Pulliam
4 70 Steve  Collins
5 00 Brian  Pembelton
6 01 Terri Marks
7 18 Tripp Massengill
8 21 Joey Throckmorton
9 78 Greg Dejarnette
10 07 Richard Storm
11 12 Wesley Green
12 03 George Spencer
13 55 Timmy Langford
14 2 Tommy Peregoy
15 10 Jan Velez
16 30 J.R. Spencer
Limited Sportsman Race 2
Pos # Driver
1 23 Danny Willis, Jr
2 3 Lee Pulliam
3 00 Brian  Pembleton
4 01 Terri Marks
5 12 Wesley Green
6 07 Richard Storm
7 78 Greg Dejarnette
8 21 Joey Throckmorton
9 9 Bruce Anderson
10 70 Steve  Collins
11 18 Tripp Massengill
12 55 Timmy Langford
13 03 George Spencer
14 10 Jan Velez
15 2 Tommy Peregoy
16 30 J.R. Spencer



Rain Washes Out Pure Stock Race

A 30-lap race for the Budweiser Pure Stock Division that had been scheduled as part of the Earth Day 150 racing program was rained out. Joey Conner of Scottsburg, Va. had won his second pole position of the season in pre-race qualifying.





95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook