South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2009 Results Archive > July 25, 2009

Smith Notches Fifth Win At SBS

Nick Smith continued his recent hot streak, notching his fifth win of the season here Saturday night at South Boston Speedway in the Embarq Night 150 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division race.

Smith, from Hampton, Va., drove away from the field in a 43-lap green-flag run to the finish that followed the race's only caution period and finished 2.344 seconds ahead of runner-up David Quackenbush of Lorton, Va.

Deac McCaskill of Raleigh, N.C. finished third, staving off a late bid from Justin Johnson of Durham, N.C. Josh Oakley of Rougemont, N.C. rounded out the top five finishers.

Former South Boston Speedway track champion, Brandon Butler of Sutherland, Va., Eddie Johnson of Midlothian, Va., Lee Pulliam of Semora, N.C. David Latour of Advance, N.C. and South Boston, Va. resident Bruce Anderson completed the top ten finishers.

Pole winner Doug Godsey of Richmond, Va. led the first 25 circuits before Smith took the lead for good on lap 26. Godsey raced Smith hard for second place until he was sidelined on lap 66 with mechanical problems.

Quackenbush inherited second place at that point and had one opportunity to make a run at Smith, that coming on the restart following the race's only mishap, a spin by Bobby Griffin of Eden, N.C. in the second turn on lap 100.

Smith needed only about 10 laps to open up a comfortable margin on Quackenbush and gradually increased his lead as the laps wound down.

Smith averaged 81.229 mph in winning the race that took 44 minutes and 47 seconds to complete.

Late Model
1 88 Nick Smith
2 91 David Quackenbush
3 08 Deac McCaskill
4 44 Justin Johnson
5 8 Josh Oakley
6 29 Brandon Butler
7 57 Eddie Johnson
8 3 Lee Pulliam
9 89 David Latour
10 9 Bruce Anderson
11 77 Michael Hardin
12 22 Laura Hayes
13 64 Rick Gdovic
14 81 Thomas Scott
15 70 Bobby Griffin
16 03 Kenny Forbes
17 27 Mike Chambers
18 05 Doug Godsey




Willis, Snow Split Wins In Twin Limited Sportsman Division Races.

Danny Willis Jr. of Cluster Springs, Va. and Justin Snow of Danville, Va. split the wins in the pair of 50-lap Limited Sportsman Division races that were held as part of Saturday night's four-race Embarq-sponsored racing program.

Jeb Burton of Halifax, Va. won the pole for the first race and led the first 30 laps before Willis sped past him to take the lead. Once in front, Willis pulled away from his challengers and sped to a 2.120-second win over Burton.

Division points leader Brian Pembelton of Amelia, Va. finished third with Brandon Gdovic of Yorktown, Va. and Snow rounding out the top five finishers.

Snow started on the pole in the nightcap and led all 50 laps, holding off Gdovic by a slim .434-second margin in a four-lap green-flag sprint to the finish that followed the last of the race's three caution periods.

Gdovic inherited second place after Pembelton and Willis, Snow's two chief challengers in the race, crashed on the front stretch with four laps to go while locked in a tough side-by-side battle for second place.

Tommy Peregoy of Red Oak, Va. finished third with Burton and George Spencer of Halifax, Va. rounding out the top five finishers.

Willis averaged 85.415 mph in picking up his second win of the season in the first race. Snow, who picked up his fourth win of the season in the nightcap, averaged 36.186 mph in the second race.

Limited Sportsman Race 1
1 23 Danny Willis, Jr
2 27 Jeb Burton
3 00 Brian Pembelton
4 46 Brandon Gdovic
5 7 Justin Snow
6 2 Tommy Peregoy
7 12 Austin Thaxton
8 03 George Spencer
9 39 Mike Jones
10 78 Greg DeJarnette
11 07 Richard Storm
12 64 Charles Barnes
Limited Sportsman Race 2
1 7 Justin Snow
2 46 Brandon Gdovic
3 2 Tommy Peregoy
4 27 Jeb Burton
5 03 George Spencer
6 64 Charles Barnes
7 07 Richard Storm
8 00 Brian Pembelton
9 23 Danny Willis, Jr
10 12 Austin Thaxton
11 78 Greg DeJarnette
12 39 Mike Jones




Milam Takes Pure Stock Division Win

Jarrett Milam of Ringgold, Va. continued his recent domination of the Budweiser Pure Stock Division by topping the field in Saturday night's 30-lap race.

Milam started on the pole and led all the way, but had to fend off a bid from last year's division champion, Joe Allred III of Scottsburg, Va. in the closing laps to seal the win. His margin of victory was about two car lengths or .299 second.

Randy Hupp of Halifax, Va., Jack Milam of Ringgold, Va. and Chris Crosby of Raleigh, N.C. completed the top five finishers.

Milam averaged 39.349 mph in the race that was slowed by four caution periods. 

Budweiser Pure Stock
1 50 Jarrett Milam
2 17 Joe Allred, III
3 12 Randy Hupp
4 58 Jack Milam
5 9 Chris Crosby
6 91 Chuck Watkins
7 00 Bruce Mayo
8 61 Jimmy Wade
9 11 Amber Glass
10 84 Quain Moore
11 92 Courtney Crosby
12 93 Mickey Cassidy
13 81 Dean Moore
14 3 Nathan Crews
15 2 Kenny Mills




95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook