South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2010 Results Archive > March 13, 2010

Johnson Wins SBS Season Opener

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. - .Justin Johnson of Roxboro, N.C. got off to a good start in defending his 2009 South Boston Speedway NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division crown here Saturday afternoon by winning the season-opening race at South Boston Speedway.

Johnson worked his way past race leader C.E. Falk III of Virginia Beach, Va. on lap 63 to take the lead, gaining the top spot one lap before the skies opened up and NASCAR track officials put the race under caution due to rain.

The rain never subsided and Johnson was declared the winner of the 75-lap race, the first race of what had originally been scheduled as a twin 75-lap event for the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division.

Falk finished second with two-time defending NASCAR Whelen All-American Series National Champion Philip Morris of Ruckersville, Va., Nick Smith of Hampton, Va. and Dustin Storm of Huntingtown, Md. rounding out the top five finishers.

Tommy Lemons of Troy, N.C., Deac McCaskill of Raleigh, N.C., Eddie Johnson of Midlothian, Va., David Latour of Advance, N.C. and Josh Oakley of Rougemont, N.C. rounded out the top ten finishers.

Johnson averaged 41.614 mph in the race that was slowed by five caution flags.

Twenty-six cars started the race.

Late Model
Pos # Driver
1 44 Justin Johnson
2 40 C.E. Falk III
3 26 Philip Morris
4 88 Nick Smith
5 16 Dustin Storm
6 27 Tommy Lemons
7 08 Deac McCaskill
8 57 Eddie Johnson
9 89 David Latour
10 8 Josh Oakley
11 5 Brandon Dean
12 03 Kenny Forbes
13 94 Natalie Sather
14 14 Rodney Cook
15 05 Doug  Godsey
16 4 Jerame Donley
17 07 Richard Storm
18 3 Lee Pulliam
19 85 Bobby Griffin
20 6 Dean Shiflett
21 77 Michael Hardin
22 17 Stacy Puryear
23 74 Ronald Hill
24 11 Leigh Caruthers
25 51 Cory Donley
26 41 Wes Falk

Snow Wins Limited Sportsman Opener

Justin Snow of Danville, Va. started on the pole and led all the way in winning the 50-lap season-opening Limited Sportsman Division race.

Snow edged runner-up Danny Willis Jr. of Cluster Springs, Va. by .705 second in a 24-lap green-flag dash to the finish that followed the last of the race’s two caution flags.

Jeb Burton of Halifax, Va. finished third with last year’s division champion, Brian Pembelton of Amelia, Va. and Tommy Peregoy of Red Oak, Va. rounding out the top five finishers.

Jonathan Bailey of Keysville, Va., Mike Jones of South Boston, Va., Matt Bowling of Ridgeway, Va., Darryl Carver of Prospect Hill, N.C. and Timothy Watkins of Angier, N.C. rounded out the top ten finishers.

Snow averaged 54.249 mph in winning the race.

Limited Sportsman
Pos # Driver
1 7 Justin Snow
2 23 Danny Willis, Jr
3 27 Jeb Burton
4 00 Brian Pembelton
5 2 Tommy Peregoy
6 89 Jonathan Bailey
7 39 Mike Jones
8 83 Matt Bowling
9 5 Darryl Carver
10 45 Timothy Watkins
11 9 Matt Daley
12 24 Taylor Doggett
13 12 Austin  Thaxton
14 21 Joey Throckmorton

Rain Washes Out Two Races

While the first of the day’s two scheduled Late Model Stock Car Division races and the Limited Sportsman division race were run, two other divisions were not as lucky.

Rain washed out the day’s scheduled Pure Stock Division race and the race for the Southern Vintage Modified Division.





95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook