South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2010 Results Archive > March 20, 2010

Lemons Grabs First Sbs Win

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. - Tommy Lemons found himself in the right place at the right time and scored his first career South Boston Speedway win in Saturday's NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model 150 event.

With the race going into extra laps thanks to a late-race mishap and being settled with a two-lap green-flag dash, Lemons took the lead when defending NASCAR Whelen All-American Series National Champion Philip Morris suffered a flat tire on the restart on lap 152 and held off Lee Pulliam of Semora, N.C. by .775 second to take the win.

Morris had led the previous 20 circuits before encountering trouble with the flat tire.

South Boston, Va. resident Stacy Puryear finished third with Deac McCaskill of Raleigh, N.C. and Rodney Cook of Reidsville, N.C. rounding out the top five finishers.

Defending track champion, Justin Johnson of Roxboro, N.C. rallied to finish sixth after he and early leader C.E. Falk III of Virginia Beach, Va. were involved in an on-track skirmish on laps 125 and 126 that ruffled the emotions of both drivers and their teams. Falk led the race three times for a total of 129 laps and finished 13th, one lap down.

Eddie Johnson of Midlothian, Va., finished seventh with Morris taking eighth place, and Leigh Caruthers and Dustin Storm of Huntingtown, Md. rounding out the top ten finishers.

The race was a good one with seven lead changes among four drivers. Lemons, who started ninth, moved into the lead on lap 153 and led the final two laps. Twenty-three cars started the race.

Lemons averaged 68.889 mph in the race that was slowed by four caution flags.

Late Models
Pos # Driver
1 27 Tommy Lemons
2 3 Lee Pulliam
3 17 Stacy Puryear
4 08 Deac McCaskill
5 14 Rodney Cook
6 44 Justin Johnson
7 57 Eddie Johnson
8 26 Philip Morris
9 11 Leigh Caruthers
10 16 Dustin Storm
11 50 Lawrence Boan
12 77 Michael Hardin
13 40 C.E. Falk III
14 07 Richard Storm
15 94 Natalie Sather
16 48 Jeff Oleen
17 01 Jeff Shiflett
18 88 Nick Smith
19 89 David Latour
20 03 Kenny Forbes
21 5 Brandon Dean
22 9 Bruce Anderson
23 05 Doug Godsey

Peregoy Wins Limited Sportsman Race

Tommy Peregoy of Red Oak, Va. started on the pole and led all the way in winning the day's 50-lap Limited Sportsman Division race.

Peregoy edged Danny Willis Jr. of Cluster Springs, Va. by .684 second in a four-lap sprint to the finish that followed the race's last caution period.

Justin Snow of Danville, Va., the winner of the last week's season-opening race, finished third with Austin Thaxton of Cluster Springs, Va. and Taylor Doggett of Ruther Glen, Va. rounding out the top five finishers.

Jeb Burton of Halifax, Va., Mike Jones of South Boston, Va., Brian Pembelton of Amelia, Va., Timothy Watkins of Angier, N.C. and Joey Throckmorton of Scottsburg, Va. completed the top ten finishers.

Limited Sportsman
Pos # Driver
1 2 Tommy Peregoy
2 23 Danny Willis, Jr
3 7 Justin Snow
4 12 Austin Thaxton
5 24 Taylor Doggett
6 27 Jeb Burton
7 39 Mike Jones
8 00 Brian Pembelton
9 45 Timothy Watkins
10 21 Joey Throckmorton
11 5 Daryl Carver
12 83 Matt Bowling
13 89 Jonathan Bailey

Milam, Hupp Split Pure Stock Wins

Jarrett Milam of Ringgold, Va. and Randy Hupp of Halifax, Va. took wins in the day's twin 30-lap races for the Budweiser Pure Stock Division.

Milam dominated the first race and edged runner-up Quain Moore of Callands, Va. by 2.843 seconds to win the first race of the season for the division.

Joe Allred III of Scottsburg, Va. finished third with Hupp taking fourth place and 15-year-old Trey Crews of Nathalie, Va. finishing fifth in his first career stock car race.

In the second race, Hupp held off Daniel Crews of Long Island, Va. by about three car lengths to score the win. The margin of victory was .420 second.

Allred, whose car suffered a mechanical failure in the first race, finished third in Milam's back-up car with Trey Crews and Josh Barnes of Hillsborough, N.C. rounding out the top five finishers.

Budweiser Pure Stock Race 1
Pos # Driver
1 50 Jarrett Milam
2 84 Quain Moore
3 17 Joe Allred
4 12 Randy Hupp
5 09 Trey Crews
6 00 Bruce Mayo
7 75 Daniel Crews
8 88 Josh Barnes
9 92 Courtney Crosby
10 29 Stuart Crews
11 14 Anthony Glass
12 05 Jim Lacks
13 1 Stephen Trickey
14 61 Jimmy Wade
15 5 Charles Clardy
16 31 Jake Brown
17 32 Dustin Snead
18 58 Mike Milam
19 11 Nathan Crews
20 2 Kenny Mills
Budweiser Pure Stock Race 2
Pos # Driver
1 12 Randy Hupp
2 75 Daniel Crews
3 17 Joe Allred
4 09 Trey Crews
5 88 Josh Barnes
6 92 Courtney  Crosby
7 29 Stuart Crews
8 1 Stephen Trickey
9 2 Kenny Mills
10 05 Jim Lacks
11 14 Anthony Glass
12 61 Jimmy Wade
13 00 Bruce Mayo
14 11 Nathan Crews
15 84 Quain Moore
16 50 Jarrett Milam
17 5 Charles Clardy
18 58 Mike Milam
19 31 Jake Brown
20 32 Dustin Snead

Blair, Ricketts Tops In Legendary Ford Flatheads Race

Bill Blair of Thomasville, N.C. and Garland Ricketts of Clover, Va. were the winners in the day's 20-lap race for the Legendary Ford Flatheads Racing Association.

Blair, the overall race winner, won the series' Modified Division while Ricketts, who finished as the runner-up in the race, emerged as the Sportsman Division winner.

Legendary Flatheads
Pos # Driver
1 2 Bill Blair
2 80 Garland Ricketts
3 V8 Bobby Apple
4 66 Harry Hale
5 33 Jerry King
6 56 Gary Welburn
7 7 Edgar Wilborn
8 8 Jerry King Jr.




95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook