South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2010 Results Archive > April 17, 2010

Johnson Sweeps SBS Twinbill

SOUTH BOSTON, VA.-Justin Johnson has gotten his 2010 season at South Boston Speedway off to a hot start.

The Durham, N.C. driver has won three of the four NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division races run this season at South Boston Speedway, scoring two of the wins Saturday night with a sweep of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Twin 75's.

In the first of the night's pair of 75-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division races, Johnson survived a tough battle with South Boston, Va. driver Stacy Puryear, grabbing the lead from Puryear on lap 65 and holding on for the final 11 laps to take the win.

Puryear finished second, .655 second behind Johnson, with Lee Pulliam of Semora, N.C., Deac McCaskill of Raleigh, N.C. and Nick Smith of Hampton, Va. rounding out the top five finishers.

Josh Oakley of Rougemont, N.C., Dustin Storm of Huntingtown, Md., Doug Godsey of Richmond, Va., Natalie Sather of Fargo, N.D. and Richard Storm of Partlow, Va. rounded out the top ten finishers.

The race featured two lead changes among three drivers, with Puryear leading 60 laps of the 75-lap event. Johnson led 11 laps.

Johnson started fourth in the second race after a pre-race drawing to determine the invert order for the start of the nightcap. He fell back to sixth place after being forced to the outside due to some early contact, but worked his way back up to second place behind McCaskill, who started on the pole and led the early stages of the race, by lap 27.

A caution flag on lap 39 allowed Johnson to close up on McCaskill and Johnson took advantage of the opportunity to take the lead on lap 46. McCaskill got past Johnson and regained the lead on the restart after a caution on lap 54. But, he couldn't hold off Johnson, who sped back into the lead on lap 59. Once in front, Johnson did not relinquish the lead again.

McCaskill finished second, 1.38 seconds behind Johnson, with Smith finishing third. Puryear finished fourth and Eddie Johnson of Midlothian, Va. finished fifth.

Godsey, David Latour of Advance, N.C., Michael Hardin of Pomfret, Md., Ronald Hill of Rougemont, N.C. and Richard Storm rounded out the top ten finishers.

There were three lead changes among two drivers with Johnson leading a total of 26 laps. McCaskill led a total of 49 laps.

Johnson averaged 59.744 mph in winning the first race, which was slowed by three caution flags. He averaged 40.875 mph in the nightcap, which was slowed by six caution flags.

Late Model Race 1
1 44 Justin Johnson
2 17 Stacy Puryear
3 3 Lee Pulliam
4 08 Deac McCaskill
5 88 Nick Smith
6 8 Josh Oakley
7 16 Dustin Storm
8 05 Doug  Godsey
9 94 Natalie Sather
10 07 Richard Storm
11 89 David Latour
12 50 Lawrence Boan
13 77 Michael Hardin
14 74 Ronald Hill
15 20 Sam Hunt
16 11 Leigh Caruthers
17 57 Eddie Johnson
18 99 Tony Keen
Late Model Race 2
1 44 Justin Johnson
2 08 Deac McCaskill
3 88 Nick Smith
4 17 Stacy Puryear
5 57 Eddie Johnson
6 05 Doug  Godsey
7 89 David Latour
8 77 Michael Hardin
9 74 Ronald Hill
10 07 Richard Storm
11 50 Lawrence Boan
12 3 Lee Pulliam
13 11 Leigh Caruthers
14 8 Josh Oakley
15 94 Natalie Sather
16 20 Sam Hunt
17 16 Dustin Storm
18 99 Tony Keen

Peregoy Wins Limited Sportsman Race

Tommy Peregoy of Red Oak, Va. started on the pole and led all the way in winning the 50-lap Limited Sportsman Division race.

Peregoy held off a fast-closing Justin Snow of Danville, Va. over the final six laps, edging Snow by .328 second at the finish to take his second win of the season.

Matt Bowling of Ridgeway, Va. finished third with Taylor Doggett of Ruther Glen, Va. and Danny Willis Jr. of Cluster Springs, Va. rounding out the top five finishers.

Joey Throckmorton of Scottsburg, Va., Daryl Carver of Prospect Hill, N.C., Mike Jones of South Boston, Va., Rob Clary of Lacrosse, Va. and Charles Barnes of Chase City, Va. completed the top ten finishers.

Limited Sportsman
1 2 Tommy Peregoy
2 7 Justin Snow
3 83 Matt Bowling
4 24 Taylor Doggett
5 23 Danny Willis, Jr
6 21 Joey Throckmorton
7 5 Daryl Carver
8 39 Mike Jones
9 4 Rob Clary
10 64 Charles Barnes
11 12 Austin Thaxton

Milam Wins Pure Stock Race

Jarrett Milam of Ringgold, Va. took the lead from Randy Hupp of Halifax, Va. with five laps to go and held off Hupp to win the 30-lap race for the Budweiser Pure Stock Division.

His margin of victory over Hupp was 1.244 second.

Daniel Crews of Long Island, Va., Trey Crews of Halifax, Va. and former division champion Joe Allred III of Scottsburg, Va. rounded out the top five finishers.

Courtney Crosby of Scottsburg, Va., Bruce Mayo of Halifax, Va., Quain Moore of Callands, Va., Charles Clardy of South Boston, Va. and Stuart Crews of Long Island, Va. completed the top ten finishers.

Milam averaged 43.589 mph in winning the race, which was slowed by two cautions.

Budweiser Pure Stock
1 50 Jarrett Milam
2 12 Randy Hupp
3 75 Daniel Crews
4 09 Trey Crews
5 17 Joe Allred
6 92 Courtney Crosby
7 00 Bruce Mayo
8 84 Quain Moore
9 5 Charles Clardy
10 29 Stuart Crews
11 31 Jake Brown
12 05 Jim Lacks
13 14 Anthony Glass
14 1 Stephen Trickey
15 61 Jimmy Wade
16 22 Kenny Mills
17 88 Josh Barnes
18 3 Nathan Crews




95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook