South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2010 Results Archive > June 19, 2010

Pulliam, Johnson Split Wins At South Boston Speedway

South Boston, Va. - On a night when a near season-high field of 28 NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division drivers took to the track, a pair of South Boston Speedway regulars emerged at the top of the field.

Lee Pulliam of Semora, N.C. and track Late Model Stock Car Division points leader Justin Johnson of Roxboro, N.C. split wins in the twin 75-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division races that highlighted the CenturyLink Night Twin 75s racing program.

Pulliam started on the pole in the first race and led the entire race, holding off former South Boston Speedway and three-time NASCAR national champion Philip Morris of Ruckersville, Va. in an eight-lap sprint to the finish that followed the last of the races two caution flags.

The win, Pulliam's first of the season, came by a slim margin of .062 seconds. South Boston, Va. resident Stacy Puryear finished third with Woody Howard of Chesapeake, Va. and Johnson rounding out the top five finishers.

Tommy Lemons of Troy, N.C., David Latour of Advance, N.C., Jonathan Cash of Oxford, N.C., David Quackenbush of Lorton, Va. and Josh Oakley of Rougemont, N.C. rounded out the top ten finishers.

Johnson started on the pole in the second race, but it was Howard, the outside pole starter, that grabbed the initial lead. Howard, Morris and Johnson waged a tough battle before Johnson grabbed the lead from Howard on lap 56.

Once in front, Johnson pulled away from his challengers and scored a 2.733-second win over Morris. Puryear finished third with Michael Hardin of Pomfret, Md. and Latour rounding out the top five finishers.

Deac McCaskill of Raleigh, N.C., who was a contender in the first race until a flat tire ended his bid in the closing laps of the race, finished sixth. Eddie Johnson of Midlothian, Va., Quackenbush, C.E. Falk of Virginia Beach, Va., and Wesley Falk of Virginia Beach, Va. rounded out the top ten finishers.

Late Model Race 1
Pos # Driver
1 3 Lee Pulliam
2 26 Philip Morris
3 17 Stacy Puryear
4 82 Woody Howard
5 44 Justin Johnson
6 27 Tommy Lemons
7 89 David Latour
8 7 Jonathan Cash
9 91 David Quackenbush
10 8 Josh Oakley
11 2 Matt Waltz
12 15 Chad Harris
13 41 Wesley Falk
14 50 Lawrence Boan
15 29 Jeb Burton
16 99 Stephen Berry
17 77 Michael Hardin
18 57 Eddie Johnson
19 20 Julia Landauer
20 40 C.E. Falk
21 94 Natalie Sather
22 08 Deac McCaskill
23 74 Ronald Hill
24 03 Kenny Forbes
25 1 Kyle Waltz
26 07 Richard Storm
27 11 Leigh Caruthers
28 52 William Smith
Late Model Race 2
Pos # Driver
1 44 Justin Johnson
2 26 Philip Morris
3 17 Stacy Puryear
4 77 Michael Hardin
5 89 David Latour
6 08 Deac McCaskill
7 57 Eddie Johnson
8 91 David Quackenbush
9 40 C.E. Falk
10 41 Wesley Falk
11 29 Jeb Burton
12 99 Stephen Berry
13 50 Lawrence Boan
14 82 Woody Howard
15 27 Tommy Lemons
16 20 Julia Landauer
17 3 Lee Pulliam
18 94 Natalie Sather
19 07 Richard Storm
20 2 Matt Waltz
21 8 Josh Oakley
22 1 Kyle Waltz
23 15 Chad Harris
24 52 William Smith
25 7 Jonathan Cash
26 74 Ronald Hill
27 11 Leigh Caruthers
28 03 Kenny Forbes

Doggett Wins Limited Sportsman Race

Taylor Doggett of Ruther Glen, Va. scored his first career NASCAR Limited Sportsman Division winhere Saturday night, starting on the pole and leading all the way to win the nights 50-lap Limited Sportsman Division race.

Danny Willis Jr. of Cluster Springs, Va. finished second with Brian Pembelton of Amelia, Va., Tommy Peregoy of Red Oak, Va. and Justin Snow of Danville, Va. rounding out the top five finishers.

Limited Sportsman
Pos # Driver
1 24 Taylor Doggett
2 23 Danny Willis, Jr
3 00 Brian Pembelton
4 2 Tommy Peregoy
5 7 Justin Snow
6 12 Austin Thaxton
7 83 Matt Bowling
8 64 Charles Barnes
9 17 Hunter Pearce
10 13 Megan Creech
11 39 Mike Jones

Crews Wins Pure Stock Division Race

Trey Crews of Halifax, Va. took the lead from Jarrett Milam of Ringgold, Va. with four laps to go and held off Stuart Crews of Long Island, Va. and Milam to win the 30-lap race for the Budweiser Pure Stock Division.

The win was the first of the season for Crews who drives an entry out of the Halifax County (Va.) Public Schools Motorsports Academy stable.

Bruce Mayo of Halifax, Va. finished fourth with Daniel Crews of Long Island, Va. rounding out the top five finishers.

Budweiser Pure Stock
Pos # Driver
1 09 Trey Crews
2 29 Stuart Crews
3 50 Jarrett Milam
4 00 Bruce Mayo
5 75 Daniel Crews
6 17 Joe Allred
7 12 Randy Hupp
8 31 Jake Brown
9 18 Anthony Glass
10 22 Kenny Mills
11 5 Charles Clardy
12 05 Jim Lacks
13 61 Jimmy Wade
14 84 Quain Moore
15 1 Stephen Trickey

Lacks Makes It Three In A Row In SV Modified Division

Darryl Lacks of Goode, Va. took the lead on the 14th lap and held on the rest of the way to win the 25-lap race for the Southern Vintage Modified Division.

Donnie Lacks of Goode, Va., Randy Smith of Bassett, Va., Chris Jones of Forest, Va. and Bob Randall of Falmouth, Va. rounded out the top five finishers.

Southern Vintage Modifieds
Pos # Driver
1 64 Darryl Lacks
2 79 Donnie Lacks
3 44 Randy Smith
4 24 Chris Jones
5 33 Bob Randall
6 21JR Phil Barkins
7 74 Ricky Matherly
8 21VA Scott Stinnett
9 2 Joseph Overstreet




95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook