South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2010 Results Archive > July 24, 2010

Pulliam, Johnson Split Wins At SBS

South Boston, Va. - Lee Pulliam and Justin Johnson ruled the night Saturday night here at South Boston Speedway, splitting wins in the two 75-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division races that headlined the NASCAR Whelen Night Twin 75's racing program.

Pulliam won the first 75-lap NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division race, taking the lead from South Boston, Va. resident Stacy Puryear on lap 61 and leading the rest of the way.

The win was Pulliam's second of the season here. His margin of victory over Puryear was .935-second.

Johnson finished third with Deac McCaskill of Raleigh, N.C. and former track and NASCAR national champion Peyton Sellers of Danville, Va. rounding out the top five finishers.

David Latour of Advance, N.C. former track champion and three-time defending NASCAR national champion Philip Morris of Ruckersville, Va., Leigh Caruthers of Wake Forest, N.C. Eddie Johnson of Midlothian, Va. and Michael Hardin of Pomfret, Md. rounded out the top ten finishers.

Pulliam averaged 46.558 mph in the race that was slowed by three caution periods. There were two lead changes among three drivers with Puryear leading a race-high 53 laps.

Puryear started on the outside pole in the second race and led the first three laps before Johnson stormed past him to grab the lead. Once in front, Johnson never relinquished the lead in speeding to his eighth win of the season.

Puryear and McCaskill appeared to be headed for podium finishes, but their bids were dashed when they tangled with six laps to go while battling for second place.

That put Caruthers in second place with Morris in third place, but they tangled with four laps to go. That put Latour in second place and Hardin in third place for the final restart and a two-lap green-flag dash to the finish.

Johnson quickly pulled away on the restart and edged Latour by .584-second at the finish. Thus far, Johnson has won all of the second races in South Boston Speedway's twin-race events this season.

Hardin finished third with Eddie Johnson and South Boston, Va. resident Bruce Anderson rounding out the top-five finishers.

Sellers finished sixth with McCaskill, Puryear, Morris and Ronald Hill of Rougemont, N.C. completing the top ten finishers.

Johnson averaged 37.500 mph in the race that was slowed by four caution periods.

Late Model Race 1
Pos # Driver
1 3 Lee Pulliam
2 17 Stacy Puryear
3 44 Justin Johnson
4 08 Deac McCaskill
5 83 Peyton Sellers
6 89 David Latour
7 26 Philip  Morris
8 11 Leigh Caruthers
9 57 Eddie Johnson
10 77 Michael Hardin
11 74 Ronald Hill
12 27 Jeb Burton
13 94 Natalie Sather
14 70 Julia Landauer
15 04 Bugs Hairfiled
16 20 Sam Hunt
17 90 Bruce Anderson
18 50 Lawrence Boan
19 06 Brad Cox
20 05 Doug Godsey
21 07 Richard Storm
Late Model Race 2
Pos # Driver
1 44 Justin Johnson
2 89 David Latour
3 77 Michael Hardin
4 57 Eddie Johnson
5 90 Bruce Anderson
6 83 Peyton Sellers
7 08 Deac McCaskill
8 17 Stacy Puryear
9 26 Philip  Morris
10 74 Ronald Hill
11 94 Natalie Sather
12 27 Jeb Burton
13 20 Sam Hunt
14 11 Leigh Caruthers
15 70 Julia Landauer
16 07 Richard Storm
17 04 Bugs Hairfiled
18 3 Lee Pulliam
19 05 Doug Godsey

Snow Sweeps Limited Sportsman Twinbill

Justin Snow of Danville, Va. climbed back into contention in the chase for the South Boston Speedway Limited Sportsman Division title Saturday night by sweeping the pair of 50-lap Limited Sportsman Division races.

The sweep by Snow gives him four wins in the division here this season.

Snow's task was made easier when his two chief challengers, division points leader Tommy Peregoy of Red Oak, Va. and Danny Willis Jr. of Cluster Springs, Va. tangled and spun on lap 28. Willis did not finish the race and did not compete in the second race.

Matt Bowling of Ridgeway, Va. finished second, 2.077 seconds behind Snow with Daryl Carver of Prospect Hill, N.C., Blake Stallings of Danville, Va. and Peregoy rounding out the top five finishers.

Snow started fifth in the second race and took the lead for good on lap 6 when he sped past Taylor Doggett of Ruther Glen, Va. to take the lead.

Doggett finished second, 5.905 seconds behind Snow. Mike Jones of South Boston, Va., Austin Thaxton of South Boston, Va. and Carver rounded out the top five finishers in the nightcap.

Limited Sportsman Race 1
Pos # Driver
1 7 Justin Snow
2 83 Matt Bowling
3 5 Daryl Carver
4 17 Blake Stallings
5 2 Tommy Peregoy
6 23 Danny Willis, Jr
7 00 Brian Pembelton
8 24 Taylor Doggett
9 12 Austin Thaxton
10 39 Mike Jones
11 41 Ken Morgan
Limited Sportsman Race 2
Pos # Driver
1 7 Justin Snow
2 24 Taylor Doggett
3 39 Mike Jones
4 12 Austin Thaxton
5 5 Daryl Carver
6 2 Tommy Peregoy
7 83 Matt Bowling
8 41 Ken Morgan
9 17 Blake Stallings
10 00 Brian Pembelton

Allred Wins Pure Stock Race

Joe Allred III of Scottsburg, Va. picked up his second win of the season Saturday night in winning the 30-lap race for the Budweiser Pure Stock Division.

Allred edged runner-up Jarrett Milam of Ringgold, Va. by 1.155-second.

Daniel Crews of Long Island, Va., Trey Crews of Halifax, Va. and Bruce Mayo of Halifax, Va. rounded out the top-five finishers.

Budweiser Pure Stock
Pos # Driver
1 17 Joe Allred
2 50 Jarrett Milam
3 75 Daniel Crews
4 09 Trey Crews
5 00 Bruce Mayo
6 29 Stuart Crews
7 92 Courtney Crosby
8 12 Randy Hupp
9 84 Quain Moore
10 31 Jake Brown
11 18 Anthony Glass
12 61 Jimmy Wade
13 22 Kenny Mills
14 5 Charles Clardy
15 11 Chris Crosby
16 01 Jeff Deering
17 88 Josh Barnes
18 05 Jim Lacks
19 55 Joe Conner

Blair Wins Ford Flatheads Race

Bill Blair started on the pole and led the entire race in winning the 20-lap race for the drivers in the Legendary Ford Flatheads Racing Association.

Garland Ricketts of South Boston, Va. finished second with Bobby Apple finishing third.

Harry Hale, the fourth-place finisher, was the Sportsman Division winner.

Legendary Flatheads
Pos # Driver
1 2 Bill Blair
2 80 Garland Ricketts
3 V8 Bobby Apple
4 66 Harry Hale
5 55 Carlton Pugh




95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook