South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2010 Results Archive > August 28, 2010

Pulliam Sweeps SBS Twinbill 
Johnson Unofficially Clinches Title

SOUTH BOSTON, VA…Lee Pulliam of Semora, N.C. continued his recent hot streak at South Boston Speedway Saturday night, sweeping the pair of 75-lap NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division races that were part of the PASS Super Late Model 150 racing program.

While Pulliam ran his season win total at South Boston Speedway to five with his pair of wins, Justin Johnson of Durham, N.C. unofficially clinched his second straight South Boston Speedway NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division championship.

The championship will not be official until track and NASCAR officials verify Saturday night's race results and points totals.

Pulliam edged defending NASCAR Whelen All-American Series National Champion and former track champion Philip Morris of Ruckersville, Va. by 2.104 seconds in winning the first 75-lap race with former NASCAR Whelen All-American Series National Champion and former South Boston Speedway champion Peyton Sellers of Danville, Va. finishing third.

Jeb Burton of Halifax, Va. and Dustin Storm of Huntingtown, Md. rounded out the top five finishers in the 21-car field.

In the second 75-lap race, Pulliam took the lead from Sellers, the pole starter, on the third lap and held off Sellers and Morris in a two-lap green-flag dash to the finish that followed the race's lone caution period.

Nick Smith of Hampton, Va. and Leigh Caruthers of Wake Forest, N.C. rounded out the top five finishers in the 16-car field.

Pulliam averaged 32.782 mph in the first race, which was slowed by five caution flags and two red flags. He averaged 69.134 mph in the nightcap, which was slowed by only one caution period.

Late Model Race 1
pos # driver
1 3 Lee Pulliam
2 26 Philip Morris
3 83 Peyton Sellers
4 27 Jeb Burton
5 16 Dustin Storm
6 2 Matt Waltz
7 88 Matt Bowling
8 44 Justin Johnson
9 57 Eddie Johnson
10 17 Stacy Puryear
11 94 Natalie Sather
12 12 Nick Smith
13 74 Ronald Hill
14 77 Michael Hardin
15 50 Lawrence Boan
16 07 Richard Storm
17 28 Chris Comstock
18 89 David Latour
19 11 Leigh Caruthers
20 22 Austin Thaxton
21 9 Bruce Anderson
Late Model Race 2
pos # driver
1 3 Lee Pulliam
2 83 Peyton Sellers
3 26 Philip Morris
4 12 Nick Smith
5 11 Leigh Caruthers
6 27 Jeb Burton
7 44 Justin Johnson
8 57 Eddie Johnson
9 2 Matt Waltz
10 94 Natalie Sather
11 74 Ronald Hill
12 17 Stacy Puryear
13 88 Matt Bowling
14 50 Lawrence Boan
15 16 Dustin Storm
16 07 Richard Storm

Weller Takes PASS South Super Late Model Win

Jimmy Weller of Liberty, Ohio had a big night Saturday night at South Boston Speedway.

Weller scored his first career Pro All Star Series (PASS) victory in the 150-lap PASS South Super Late Model race, holding off teammate Ryan Blaney, son of NASCAR star Dave Blaney, in a 15-lap dash to the finish that followed the last of the race's five caution periods.

Weller took the lead from Blaney on lap 127 and held on for the final 23 circuits to take the win. His margin of victory over Blaney was .602 second, or about four car lengths.

Jay Fogleman of Durham, N.C., a former regular competitor at South Boston Speedway in the NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division, finished third with Trey Mitchell of Wimberley, Tex. and Clay Jones of Goldsboro, N.C. rounding out the top five finishers.

Series points leader Preston Peltier of Concord, N.C. had a tough night and finished tenth, the final car on the lead lap.

There were five lead changes among five drivers with Blaney leading the most laps with 60 circuits in front of the field.


Winstead Wins Rolling Thunder Modified Series Race

A.J. Winstead of Richmond, Va. took the lead from Joe Scarbrough of Gordonsville, Va. on the 26th lap and held on the rest of the way to win the 75-lap race for the regional touring Rolling Thunder Modifieds Racing Series.

Winstead pulled away from Scarbrough and the rest of the field on the race's final restart with 10 laps to go and edged Scarbrough by .398-second.

The win was Winstead's third victory of the season in the series.

Hunter Slayton finished third with Mike Rudy taking fourth place and Trevor Edwards of Shepherdsville, Ky. rounding out the top five finishers.





95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook