South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2006 Results Archive > May 13, 2006

MOM's NIGHT 150: Herring cruises to victory in 150-lap Barkhouser Late Model Stock Car race Saturday night at SoBo

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. — The full moon hanging over turns three and four at South Boston Speedway Saturday night proved to be a good omen for Drew Herring of Benson, N.C.

After getting the 2006 season off to a sluggish start, Herring, the runner-up in the chase for the NASCAR Dodge Weekly Series title at America's Hometown Track last year, finally found his way to Victory Lane Saturday night in the featured attraction of the Mom's Night Out 150.

The 150-lap Late Model Stock Car feature was slowed by just one caution. When the race went green on lap 24 following the lone yellow flag session, Herring motored to a fairly easy win. By the time the checkered flag flew, only seven of the 21 cars that began the event were on the lead lap.

The victory by Herring, who posted five wins at South Boston Speedway in 2005, marked the fourth different Late Model Stock Car victor at the four-tenths mile asphalt oval in five races this season.

One-time winner Jason Dickerson of Ruckersville, Va., who started seventh in the field, roared into the top two just past the midpoint of the race, but was unable to mount a challenge for Herring. Dickerson, however, did manage to secure a second-place finish.

Owen Miller of Emporia, Va., who started outside on the front row beside Herring, wound up third in the race. Miller led the race from lap two through lap nine before Herring, who was the top qualifier for the event, swiped the top spot on the track for good on the 10th lap.

Jon Denning of Springfield, N.J. placed fourth, while Peyton Sellers of Danville, Va., the 2005 South Boston Speedway and NASCAR Dodge Weekly Series national champion, rounded out the top five drivers.

Rodney Cook of Reidsville, N.C. finished sixth and was the final driver on the lead lap. Adam Barker of Hurt, Va. was seventh, while division point leader Jonathan Cash of Oxford, N.C. placed eighth. Barker and Cash were each one lap down at the finish.

Wayne Ramsey of Amherst, Va. placed ninth in the final rundown, while Eddie Johnson of Midlothian, Va. rounded out the top 10 drivers. Ramsey and Johnson were also one lap down at the close of the race.

Barkhouser Late Model
1 3 Drew Herring
2 19 Jason  Dickerson
3 2 Owen Miller
4 46 Jon Denning
5 26 Peyton  Sellers
6 14 Rodney Cook
7 59 Adam Barker
8 7 Jonathan Cash
9 51 Wayne  Ramsey
10 57 Eddie Johnson
11 91 David Quackenbush
12 3 Cliff Daniels
13 89 Jonathan Bailey
14 12 Nick Smith (2)
15 15 C E Faulk
16 31 Chris  Jones
17 7 Richard Storm
18 38 Mark Cook
19 82 Barry Beggarly
20 90 Speedy  Faucette
21 42 Tim Pinion

Charles Barnes, Bruce Anderson score triumphs in caution-plagued Limited Sportsman Division action

The Limited Sportsman Division drivers competed in a pair of 50-lap races Saturday night. Over the course of the two events, the competitors amassed a total of 15 caution periods and two victors.

Charles Barnes of Chase City, Va. snapped a three-race win streak by Bruce Anderson of South Boston, Va. in the opening 50-lap race and picked up a $250 bounty for halting the win streak.

Anderson, a four-time winner this season, returned to his winning ways in the second 50-lap event and maintained his lead in the division's point race.

The caution flag waved 10 times in the opening 50-lap race. One of the cautions came when Anderson, who was running first, went spinning after contact from Tommy Peregoy of Red Oak, Va. Anderson and Peregoy, who was black-flagged for the incident, were each relegated to the back of the lead lap pack when the race went back green on lap 37.

Anderson roared through the field and wound up second in the opening event, while Ken Roundtree of Gates, N.C. placed third and was followed by Brian Pembleton of Amelia, Va. in the fourth slot and Tiffany Daniels of Smithfield, Va. in fifth.

Barnes led the first three laps of the first race before Anderson took the lead position on lap four. He stayed in the first-place spot until Barnes moved to the top position on the 36th lap when Anderson went spinning.

Peregoy, who started alongside Anderson on the front row for the second 50-lapper, took the lead at the outset, but saw Anderson move into the lead spot for good on the 15th circuit.

Peregoy held on to finish second behind Anderson at the checkered flag, while Roundtree notched his second third-place run of the night in the event. Barnes placed fourth in the nightcap, while Daniels rounded out the top five competitors.

Limited Sportsman Race 1
1 64 Charles Barnes
2 9 Bruce Anderson
3 43 Ken Roundtree
4 00 Brian  Pembleton
5 14 Tiffany Daniels
6 41 Wesley Falk
7 2 Tommy  Peregory
8 27 Bill  Moshenek
9 01 Terri Williams
10 55 Timmy Langford
11 07 Matt  Lofton
12 8 Brian Thompson
13 23 Danny Willis Jr
14 09 Philip Woods
Limited Sportsman Race 2
1 9 Bruce Anderson
2 2 Tommy  Peregory
3 43 Ken Roundtree
4 64 Charles Barnes
5 14 Tiffany Daniels
6 23 Danny Willis Jr
7 27 Bill  Moshenek
8 07 Matt  Lofton
9 00 Brian  Pembleton
10 01 Terri Williams
11 41 Wesley Falk
12 55 Timmy Langford
13 8 Brian Thompson
14 09 Philip Woods

Igdalsky posts first triumph of season in 30-lap race for Pure Stock Division

Nick Igdalsky of South Boston, Va. set the fast qualifying time prior to the 30-lap race for the Budweiser Pure Stock Division. Igdalsky then was shifted to a seventh starting position following an inversion prior to the race.

Igdalsky methodically worked his way through the field and gained the lead on lap 24. >From there, he held on the remainder of the way to score his first win of the season. The race, which was slowed by six caution periods and one red flag session, was extended to 31 laps at the end to ensure a two-lap dash to the checkered flag at the end.

Lee Anderson of Gladys, Va. placed second in the 16-car field and closed to within four points of third-place finishing Chuck Watkins of Stem, N.C. in the chase for the division's point title.

Quain Moore of Callands, Va. garnered a fourth-place showing in the event and was followed in the top five by Keith Langston, who edged Courtney Crosby by a nose at the finish.

Budweiser Pure Stock
1 2 Nick Igdalsky
2 69 Lee Anderson
3 19 Chuck Watkins
4 84 Quain Moore
5 71 Keith Langston
6 92 Courtney Crosby
7 91 Joey Conner
8 9 Chris Crosby
9 83 Chris Seay
10 8 William Ridgeway
11 29 Justin Tucker
12 23 Randy Hupp
13 11 Amber Glass
14 14 Donald Glass
15 1 Scott Phillips
16 17 Joey Allred

Gregory scores victory in Legendary Flathead race

Johnny Gregory of Rural Hall, N.C. started sixth in the 10-car field for the Legendary Flathead Series, grabbed the lead on the sixth circuit and held on the rest of the way to gain a victory in the 20-lap shootout.

Gregory's victory was notched in the Modified Division.

In the Sportsman portion of the race, Steve Gourley of Winston-Salem, N.C. picked up the win.





95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook