South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2009 Results Archive > May 30, 2009

South Boston 150 Plus Late Models Moffitt Wins Ncws Race; Pulliam Scores In Late Model Event

SOUTH BOSTON, Va. – Brett Moffitt already broke one of Joey Logano's NASCAR Camping World Series records. It didn't take him long to take care of another.

Moffitt became the youngest winner in NASCAR Camping World Series history Saturday night with his win in the South Boston 150 at South Boston (Va.) Speedway. His No. 44 Chevrolet led 81 laps – including the last 67 – and outpaced a pair of fellow teenagers in runner-up Ryan Gifford and third-place Ryan Truex.

Moffitt doesn't turn 17 until August 7. Joey Logano, now driving the No. 20 Home Depot Toyota in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, was 1 month, 5 days of turning 17 when he scored his first win in the NASCAR Camping World Series West, and he set the NASCAR Camping World Series East mark 11 days later with his win at Greenville (S.C.) Pickens Speedway. In the 2009 NASCAR Camping World Series East opener, Moffitt broke Logano's record as the series' youngest Coors Light Pole Award winner.

With Saturday's win, Moffitt also secured a starting spot in the postseason NASCAR Toyota All-Star Showdown.

Moffitt and Truex traded the lead three times. Moffitt pulled away on the final lap 103 restart and won by 3.691 seconds. Truex, the 19-year-old younger brother of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Martin Truex Jr., won his first career Coors Light Pole Award earlier in the day.

Gifford, 19, is driving a limited schedule for Richard Childress Racing. He started 10th and charged up through the field. He got to second when Truex got loose coming off Turn 4, but was unable to close the gap on Moffitt in the closing laps.

Point leader Jody Lavender finished fourth and maintained a 26-point lead on Moffitt. Joe Gibbs Racing's Max Gresham, making his first series start, finished fifth.

Alan Tardiff, Sean Caisse, Ty Dillon, Eddie MacDonald and Dustin Delaney rounded out the top 10.

NASCAR Camping World Series East-South Boston 150 Unofficial Results
Lap length: 0.4 miles

(Start position in parentheses)
1. (2) Brett Moffitt, Grimes, Iowa, Chevrolet, 150 laps, 63.830 mph, $7,825.
2. (10) Ryan Gifford, Winchester, Tenn., Chevrolet, 150, $4,550.
3. (1) Ryan Truex, Mayetta, N.J., Toyota, 150, $4,041.
4. (11) Jody Lavender, Hartsville, S.C., Chevrolet, 150, $2,100.
5. (6) Max Gresham, Griffin, Ga., Toyota, 150, $1,800.
6. (8) Alan Tardiff, Lyman, Maine, Chevrolet, 150, $1,675.
7. (3) Sean Caisse, Pelham, N.H., Chevrolet, 150, $1,675.
8. (12) Ty Dillon, Lewisville, N.C., Chevrolet, 150, $1,150.
9. (14) Eddie MacDonald, Rowley, Mass., Chevrolet, 150, $1,550.
10. (15) Dustin Delaney, Mayfield, N.Y., Chevrolet, 150, $1,550.
11. (5) Matt Kobyluck, Uncasville, Conn., Chevrolet, 150, $2,100.
12. (19) Ryan Duff, Hazard, KY., Chevrolet, 150, $1,475.
13. (13) Steve Park, East Northport, N.Y., Chevrolet, 149, $1,475.
14. (4) Jonathan Smith, Beacon Falls, Conn., Chevrolet, 149, $1,450.
15. (22) Kristin Bumbera, Sealy, Texas, Dodge, 149, $950.
16. (18) Jesus Hernandez, Fresno, Calif., Dodge, 149, $1,425.
17. (17) Dakoda Armstrong, New Castle, Ind., Chevrolet, 148, $925.
18. (20) Matt Kurzejewski, Mansfield, Pa., Dodge, 146, $925.
19. (7) Jason Patison, Corona, Calif., Ford, 131, $1,425.
20. (9) Alex Kennedy, Aztec, N.M., Chevrolet, 109, $1,400.
21. (16) John Salemi, Nashua, N.H., Chevrolet, 67, accident, $900.
22. (21) Chase Mattioli, Long Pond, PA., Ford, 51, suspension, $900.
23. (23) Todd Peck, Glenville, PA., Chevrolet, 35, engine, $900.

Race Statistics
Time of Race: 0 hours 56 minutes 24 seconds
Margin of Victory: 3.691 seconds
Fastest Qualifier: R.Truex * (89.021 mph, 16.176 seconds)
Caution Flags: 5 for 26 laps.
Lead Changes: 3 among 2 drivers.
Lap Leaders: R. Truex 1-45; B. Moffitt 46-59; R. Truex 60-83; B. Moffitt 84-150.
Standings: 1. J. Lavender, 625; 2. B. Moffitt, 599; 3. E. MacDonald, 577; 4. A. Tardiff, 558; 5. M. Kobyluck, 557; 6. D. Delaney, 530; 7. R. Truex, 512; 8. S. Park, 500; 9. J. Patison, 493; 10. R. Duff, 490.



Pulliam Scores First Career LMSC Win

Lee Pulliam of Semora, N.C. moved to the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division this season looking for big things after having won last year's South Boston Speedway Limited Sportsman Division championship.

Things couldn't get any bigger for Pulliam than they did Saturday night when he scored his first career NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division win in the 150-lap race that served as the co-feature event with the NASCAR Camping World East Series race.

In a race that had numerous twists and turns, Pulliam inherited the lead on lap 127 when race leaders Nick Smith of Hampton, Va. and Jonathan Cash of Oxford, N.C. tangled while battling for the lead.

From there, he fended off veteran Eddie Johnson of Midlothian, Va. and Kenny Forbes of Bullock, N.C. over the final 21-lap green-flag run to score his first career NASCAR late Model Stock Car Division win.

With the win, Pulliam became the seventh different winner in nine NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division races here this season.

His margin of victory over Johnson was 1.670 second.

David Quackenbush of Lorton, Va. finished fourth and Cash rallied after the mishap with Smith on lap 126 to finish fifth.

Jonathan Bailey of Keysville, Va., Michael Hardin of Pomfret, Md., and Bruce Anderson of South Boston, Va., rounded out the top eight finishers, all of whom finished on the lead lap. Ronald Hill of Rougemont, N.C. and Smith rounded out the top ten finishers.

It was a tough night for the top two drivers in the track's Late Model Stock Car Division points standings. Both points leader Justin Johnson of Durham, N.C. and Deac McCaskill of Raleigh, N.C. were sidelined early with engine problems.

McCaskill, one of the race's three leaders, led the first 95 laps of the race.

Late Model
1 3 Lee Pulliam
2 57 Eddie Johnson
3 03 Kenny Forbes
4 91 David Quackenbush
5 90 Jonathan Cash
6 89 Jonathan Bailey
7 77 Michael Hardin
8 86 Bruce Anderson
9 74 Ronald Hill
10 88 Nick Smith
11 08 Deac McCaskill
12 22 Laura Hayes
13 6 Justin Johnson






95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook