South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results> 2005 Results Archive > April 9, 2005

Gordon holds off Agnew to take checkered flag in caution-filled Hooters Pro Cup Series race at SoBo

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. — After enduring 11 caution periods and three red-flag sessions, Benny Gordon had one final task to withstand Saturday night before claiming a victory in the Greased Lightning 250 at South Boston Speedway.

Gordon, who resides in DuBois, Pa., held off Jeff Agnew of Copper Hill, Va. in the closing stages of the USAR Hooters Pro Cup Series event at the four-tenths mile asphalt oval. The race was the first of the season for the Northern Division drivers and the fifth of 30 overall USAR Hooters Pro Cup Series events.

Gordon collected $10,000 for the victory, which was his eighth win in his last 14 starts and his 10th career triumph overall. Over $120,000 in posted awards were up for grabs in the race.

Gordon and Agnew touched with 10 laps to go coming out of turn four. With seven circuits remaining in the race, Agnew and Gordon clanged together again coming out of turn four. Agnew got a bit wobbly, which was all Gordon needed to hold on to secure the triumph.

Gordon started seventh in the 32-car field, while Agnew began in the 17th slot. Gordon grabbed the lead for good in the race on lap 142 when he worked his way around Danny Sammons of Trenton, N.J.

Jay Fogleman of Durham, N.C. started 14th in the field and battled his way through the pack for a third-place finish at the end. A.J. Frank of Mooresville, N.C. placed fourth, while Mardy Lindley of Greenville, S.C., who started third in the event, rounded out the top five competitors.

Pole sitter Joel Kauffman of Mooresville, N.C. wound up with a sixth-place run in the field. Kauffman led from the outset until the 100th circuit when he pitted during the fifth yellow-flag session.

Outside pole sitter Woody Howard of Chesapeake, Va. ran second for much of the early part of the race before slipping back. Howard then surged back near the event and finished seventh as the final driver on the lead lap. Mart Nesbitt of Asheville, N.C. placed eighth and was two laps down at the close of the event.

Tim Bainey, Jr. of Osceola Mills, Pa. wound up with a ninth-place run after starting 26th, while Todd Peck of Glenville, Pa. rallied from a 25th starting spot in the field to round out the top 10 drivers for the night. Bainey was five laps down at the close of the race, while Peck was seven laps down at the end of the night.

Several of the 11 caution periods were multi-car pileups, which left many of the 32 cars in the starting field damaged by the end of the night.


Hooters ProCup Unofficial Results

1. Benny Gordon
2. Jeff Agnew
3. Jay Fogleman
4. A.J. Frank
5. Mardy Lindley
6. Joel Kauffman
7. Woody Howard
8. Mart Nesbitt
9. Tim Bainey Jr.
10. Todd Peck
11. Joe Harrison Jr.
12. Sam Fullone
13. Mike Laughlin Jr.
14. Jason Mignogna
15. Jimmy Spencer Jr.
16. Richard Landreth
17. Danny Sammons
18. Eric Corbett
19. Brandon Collins
20. Travis Miller
21. Gary St. Amant
22. D.J. Kennington
23. Johnny Rumley
24. Leslie Law
25. Randy Humphrey
26. Kris Limerick
27. Joe Gaita
28. Greg Van Alst
29. Lonnie Rush Jr.
30. J.J. Pack
31. Glenn Gault
32. Shelby Howard


Herring wins 2nd straight Late Model race, swipes point lead from Sellers

Drew Herring of Benson, N.C. scored his second straight Barkhouser Late Model Stock Car victory Saturday night and inherited the lead position in the chase for the track championship in the process.

Herring took the point lead from Peyton Sellers of Danville, Va., who tallied a 13th-place finish in the 22-car field. Sellers won the initial three Late Model events of the season before Herring snapped that win streak last week and established his own winning streak with the triumph in the 110-lap event.

Sellers started the race from the pole position, while Herring occupied the outside slot on the front row. The two got together in the frontstretch on the eighth circuit. Sellers bounced off the contact with Herring and tapped the outside retaining wall slightly before sliding back in the running order.

Three caution periods slowed the race, including one yellow flag that flew when the contending rides of Scott Worley of Long Island, Va., Rodney Cook of Reidsville, N.C. and Jason Dickerson of Ruckersville, Va., went spinning in the frontstretch area.

Brandon Butler of Petersburg, Va. collected a second-place run for the night and was followed by Owen Miller of Emporia, Va. in third place. Wayne Ramsey of Amherst, Va. finished fourth and was followed in the top five by Jonathan Cash of Oxford, N.C.

Kelly Kingery of Smith Mountain Lake, Va. finished sixth in his first appearance of the season at South Boston. Eddie Johnson of Ashland, Va. was seventh and was followed in the top 10 by Terry King of Brookneal, Va. in eighth, Ryan Rhodes of Sanford, N.C. in ninth and David Triplett, Jr. of Timberlake, N.C. in 10th.

Barkhouser Late Model
1 3 Drew Herring
2 29 Brandon Butler
3 2 Owen Miller
4 51 Wayne Ramsey
5 7 Jonathan Cash
6 57 Kelly Kingery
7 92 Eddie Johnson
8 25 Terry King
9 83 Ryan Rhodes
10 00 David Triplett
11 74 Ronald Hill
12 14 Rodney Cook
13 26 Peyton Sellers
14 42 Tim Pinion
15 91 David Quackenbush
16 8 Josh Oakley
17 19 Jason Dickerson
18 02 Terri Williams
19 32 Chris Hopkins
20 81 Justin Johnson
21 88 Scott Worley
22 68 Ernest Winslow


95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook