South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2007 Results Archive > October 27, 2007

SOBO 300: Ramsey Nets Biggest Win Of Career In SoBo 300     

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. - Wayne Ramsey netted his biggest payday of the season here Saturday night, outrunning a stiff field of challengers to win the season-ending SoBo 300 NASCAR Late Model Stock Car race.

Ramsey, in a 69-lap green-flag run to the finish, edged C.E. Falk III of Virginia Beach, Va. by 1.553 second to win the $10,000 first prize of the event that carried $52,300 purse.

The Amherst, Va. also won the $500 DRP Performance Products/South Boston Speedway Halfway Leader Award, giving him a total payday of $10,500.

"This is by far the biggest win of my career - by a big margin," Ramsey said afterward.

'To come here and win this race with the best-of-the-best here at South Boston Speedway is an awesome feeling. I'm kind of speechless. It really hasn't sunk in."

The win was the fifth victory in a row for Ramsey here at South Boston Speedway. Ramsey won the season's final four points races in his Ford before capping his season with the victory Saturday night in South Boston Speedway's longest and richest NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division race of the season.

Just as he had done in his during his late-season win streak, Ramsey won Saturday night's SoBo 300 in convincing fashion, taking the lead from Falk, the pole winner, on the 87th lap and leading the final 213 laps.

With only one caution period in the second 150-lap segment of the 300-lap event, Ramsey needed only about 10 laps after the final restart to pull away from Falk, his closest challenger. Once he gained a clear lead of about four to five car lengths, Ramsey was never seriously threatened.

Falk finished second, giving South Boston Speedway regulars a sweep of the top two positions. Former track champion Philip Morris of Ruckersville, Va. who finished third in the NASCAR national standings this season, finished third with Justin Johnson of Durham, N.C. and South Boston Speedway 2007 NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division champion Adam Barker of Hurt, Va. rounding out the top five finishers.

South Boston Speedway regular Rodney Cook of Reidsville, N.C., former South Boston Speedway NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division champions Drew Herring of Benson, N.C. and Timothy Peters of Brosville, Va., Scott Young of Mooresville, N.C. and former South Boston Speedway NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division champion Frank Deiny, Jr. of Ashland, Va., rounded out the top ten finishers. The top ten finishers were on the lead lap at the end of the race.

There was only one lead change in the 300-lap, 120-mile race, that coming when took the lead from Falk on lap 88.

Ramsey averaged 71.944 mph in the race that was slowed by six cautions, including the one that signaled the 15-minute break for the competitors at the halfway point at 150 laps.

Fifty-seven cars were on hand to attempt to nail down one of the 36 starting spots in the field for the SoBo 300 with the 15 fastest cars being locked into the field based upon their qualifying times.

There were three 30-lap qualifying heat races and a 25-lap Last Chance Race to fill out the field for the 300-lap main event. Jonathan Cash of Oxford, N.C. took the lead with four laps to go and won the first qualifying race. Deac McCaskill of Raleigh, N.C. grabbed the lead on the 19th lap and held on to win the second qualifying race. Johnson won the last of the three qualifying races and Dude Gibbs of Seaford, Va. won the Last Chance Race.

SoBo 300
1 51 Wayne  Ramsey
2 40 C.E. Falk III
3 26 Philip  Morris
4 54 Justin Johnson
5 1 Adam Barker
6 14 Rodney Cook
7 3 Drew Herring
8 11 Timothy Peters
9 77 Scott Young
10 4 Frank Deiny, Jr.
11 74 Ronald Hill
12 89 Jonathan Bailey
13 50 Jamey Caudill
14 57 Eddie Johnson
15 24 Jason Mitcham
16 92 Chad Harris
17 02 Joey Coulter
18 55 Alex Yontz
19 44 Lynn Phoenix
20 08 Deac McCaskill
21 2 Owen Miller
22 27 Tommy Lemons
23 17 Stacy Puryear
24 47 Dude Gibbs
25 72 Richard Boswell
26 7 Tony McGuire
27 07 Richard Storm
28 00 David Triplett
29 71 Wayne Roach
30 98 Clay Campbell
31 73 Curtis Truex
32 84 Greg Edwards
33 20 Keven Wood
34 5 David Quackenbush
35 22 Jonathan  Cash
36 8 Brandon Butler




95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook