South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2009 Results Archive > March 21, 2009

Morris Wins SBS Opener

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. - Defending NASCAR Whelen All-American Series National Champion Philip Morris got his 2009 season off to a solid start by winning the Whelen 150 NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division race Saturday afternoon at South Boston Speedway.

Morris took the lead on lap 54 when race leader Deac McCaskill slid up out of the groove and opened the door for Morris to charge past. McCaskill, who had a front tire going flat, pitted when a caution flag was waved two laps later for a mishap. McCaskill rallied from the rear of the field to finish eighth.

With McCaskill out of the mix, Morris key challenger was C.E. Falk III of Virginia Beach, Va. Falk was able to stay within hailing distance of Morris but never posed a serious threat during the races 41-lap green-flag sprint to the finish.

Dustin Storm of Huntingtown, Md. finished third with Nick Smith of Hampton, Va. and Justin Johnson of Durham, N.C. rounding out the top five finishers.

Jonathan Bailey of Buffalo Junction, Va., Jonathan Cash of Oxford, N.C., McCaskill, David Quackenbush of Lorton, Va. and Rodney Cook of Reidsville, N.C. completed the top ten finishers.

Twenty-four cars took the green flag for the race.


Late Model
1 26 Philip Morris
2 40 C.E. Falk III
3 16 Dustin Storm
4 88 Nick Smith
5 6 Justin Johnson
6 89 Jonathan Bailey
7 90 Jonathan Cash
8 08 Deac McCaskill
9 91 David Quackenbush
10 14 Rodney Cook
11 57 Eddie Johnson
12 18 Dane  Rudolph
13 7 Dude Gibbs
14 9 Bruce Anderson
15 24 Tim George, Jr.
16 22 Laura Hayes
17 64 Rick Gdovic
18 05 Doug  Godsey
19 03 Kenny Forbes
20 11 Scott Marshall
21 1 Joey Mahanes
22 3 Lee Pulliam
23 74 Ronald Hill
24 83 Eric Winslow

Pembelton Wins Limited Sportsman Race

Brian Pembelton of Amelia, Va. had come close but had never won a race at South Boston Speedway. That changed Saturday when Pembelton won the 50-lap Limited Sportsman Division race.

Pembelton led the entire race, but had Tommy Peregoy of Red Oak, Va. on his heels throughout the race. At the end, Pembelton edged Peregoy by about three car lengths or .50 second on the stopwatch.

Peregoy was later disqualified after his car failed to pass a post-race inspection by NASCAR track officials.

That elevated Jeb Burton of Halifax, Va., the 16-year-old son of former Daytona 500 winner Ward Burton, to second place. Brian Cole of Roxboro, N.C., Mike Jones of South Boston, Va. and Jan Valez of Quaynabo, Puerto Rico completed the official top five finishers.

Brandon Gdovic of Yorktown, Va., Charles Barnes of Chase City, Va,, George Spencer of Halifax, Va., driving a car out of the Halifax County Motorsports Academy stable, and Richard Storm of Partlow, Va. and Danny Willis Jr. of Cluster Springs, Va. rounded out the top ten finishers.

Limited Sportsman
1 00 Brian  Pembelton
2 27 Jeb Burton
3 30 Brian  Cole
4 39 Mike Jones
5 10 Jan Velez
6 46 Brandon Gdovic
7 64 Charles Barnes
8 03 George Spencer
9 07 Richard Storm
10 23 Danny Willis, Jr
11 78 Greg Dejarnette
12 12 Austin  Thaxton
13 18 Joe Allred, III
14 80 Kenny Bowes
15 7 Justin Snow
16 17 Hunter Pearce
17 2 Tommy Peregoy

Cassidy, Milam Split Twin Pure Stock Races

Mickey Cassidy of Danville, Va. and Jarrett Milam of Ringgold, Va. split wins in the days pair of 30-lap races for the Budweiser Pure Stock Division.

Cassidy took the lead from Courtney Crosby of Scottsburg, Va. with 11 laps to go and edged Crosby to win the first race. Quain Moore of Callands, Va., Chris Crosby of Raleigh, N.C., and Justin Tucker of Elon, N.C. completed the top five finishers.

In the second race, Milam took the lead from Tucker on the 16th lap and held on the rest of the way to win the days second 30-lap Pure Stock race.

Cassidy finished second with Chris Crosby, Courtney Crosby and Moore rounding out the top five finishers.

Budweiser Pure Stock Race 1
1 93 Mickey Cassidy
2 92 Courtney  Crosby
3 84 Quain Moore
4 9 Chris  Crosby
5 29 Justin Tucker
6 58 Jack Milam
7 00 Bruce Mayo
8 75 Daniel Crews
9 12 Randy Hupp
10 61 Jimmy Wade
11 11 Amber Glass
12 3 Nathan Crews
13 88 Josh Barnes
14 50 Jarrett Milam
15 81 Dean Moore
Budweiser Pure Stock Race 2
1 50 Jarrett Milam
2 93 Mickey Cassidy
3 9 Chris  Crosby
4 92 Courtney  Crosby
5 84 Quain Moore
6 58 Jack Milam
7 12 Randy Hupp
8 00 Bruce Mayo
9 29 Justin Tucker
10 61 Jimmy Wade
11 75 Daniel Crews
12 11 Amber Glass
13 3 Nathan Crews
14 88 Josh Barnes
15 81 Dean Moore



Blair Wins Legendary Flatheads Race

Bill Blair won the 20-lap race for the competitors of the Legendary Ford Flatheads Racing Association. Garland Ricketts of Clover, Va., who finished third in the race, took top honors in the Sportsman Division of that series.

Legendary Flathead
1 2 Bill Blair
2 V8 Randy Apple
3 80 Garland Ricketts
4 66 Harry Hale
5 1 Tinker Daniels
6 22 Tom Corn
7 55 Carlton Pugh




95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook