South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2009 Results Archive > June 20, 2009

Smith Takes Second SBS Win

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. - .Nick Smith pulled away from the field over the final 49 laps to win the 150-lap NASCAR Late Model Stock Car Division race that headlined Saturday night's Dad's Night 150 racing program here at South Boston Speedway.

Smith, from Hampton, crossed the finish line 2.455 seconds ahead of runner-up Josh Oakley of Rougemont, N.C. in recording his second win of the season here.

Former track champion and defending NASCAR Whelen All-American Series National Champion Philip Morris of Ruckersville, Va. finished third after losing second place to Oakley with 19 laps to go.

Deac McCaskill of Raleigh, N.C. rallied to finish fourth after being involved in a mishap on lap 99 and unofficially took over the points lead from Justin Johnson of Durham, N.C who finished fifth. McCaskill and Johnson entered the race deadlocked for the division points lead.

Lee Pulliam of Semora, N.C., Ronald Hill of Rougemont, N.C., David Quackenbush of Lorton, Va., Michael Hardin of Pomfret, Md. and Laura Hayes of Wilton, Cal. rounded out the top ten finishers.

Smith averaged 53.158 Mph in the race that was slowed by five caution periods and one red flag.

Late Model
1 88 Nick Smith
2 8 Josh Oakley
3 26 Philip Morris
4 08 Deac McCaskill
5 44 Justin Johnson
6 3 Lee Pulliam
7 74 Ronald Hill
8 91 David Quackenbush
9 77 Michael Hardin
10 22 Laura Hayes
11 03 Kenny Forbes
12 71 Wayne Roach Jr.
13 9 Bruce Anderson
14 90 Jonathan Cash
15 88 Danny Willis, Jr.
16 57 Eddie Johnson
17 05 Doug Godsey




Snow Takes Limited Win

Justin Snow of Danville, Va. took the lead from pole winner and race leader Brian Pembelton of Amelia, Va. with five laps to go and held on to win the 50-lap Limited Sportsman Division race.

Snow edged Pembelton by .522 second in scoring his third win of the season.

Tommy Peregoy of Red Oak, Va., Danny Willis, Jr., of Cluster Springs, Va. and Brandon Gdovic of Yorktown, Va. rounded out the top five finishers.

Snow averaged 71.500 mph in the race that was slowed by one caution period.

Limited Sportsman
Pos # Driver
1 7 Justin Snow
2 00 Brian  Pembelton
3 2 Tommy Peregoy
4 23 Danny Willis, Jr
5 46 Brandon Gdovic
6 27 Jeb Burton
7 03 George Spencer
8 39 Mike Jones
9 78 Greg Dejarnette
10 07 Richard Storm
11 12 Austin  Thaxton



Milam Sweeps Pure Stock Twinbill

Jarrett Milam of Ringgold, Va. had a big night, sweeping both of the night's pair of 30-lap races for the Pure Stock Division.

In the opener, Milam edged Chris Crosby of Raleigh, N.C. by .536 second in a 15-lap sprint to the finish that followed the last of the race's three caution periods.

Jack Milam of Ringgold, Va., Randy Hupp of Halifax, Va. and Courtney Crosby of Scottsburg, Va. rounded out the top five finishers.

The second 30-lap race saw the lead change hands twice among three drivers with Jarrett Milam taking the lead from Jack Milam with five laps to go and edging Courtney Crosby by .517 second to take the win.

Jack Milam, Hupp and Chris Crosby rounded out the top five finishers in the nightcap.

Budweiser Pure Stock Race 1
Pos # Driver
1 50 Jarrett Milam
2 9 Chris Crosby
3 58 Jack Milam
4 12 Randy Hupp
5 92 Courtney Crosby
6 93 Mickey Cassidy
7 00 Bruce Mayo
8 84 Quain Moore
9 61 Jimmy Wade
10 11 Amber Glass
11 17 Joe Allred, III
12 81 Dean Moore
13 3 Nathan Crews
14 29 Justin Tucker
15 14 Lee Pulliam
16 75 Daniel Crews
Budweiser Pure Stock Race 2
Pos # Driver
1 50 Jarrett Milam
2 61 Courtney Crosby
3 58 Jack Milam
4 12 Randy Hupp
5 9 Chris Crosby
6 93 Mickey Cassidy
7 17 Joe Allred, III
8 29 Justin Tucker
9 84 Quain Moore
10 00 Bruce Mayo
11 11 Amber Glass
12 14 Dean Moore
13 75 Daniel Crews
14 81 Lee Pulliam
15 92 Jimmy Wade
16 3 Nathan Crews




Blair Wins Ford Flatheads Race

Bill Blair won the Modified Division and Harry Hale won the Sportsman Division in the 20-lap race for the Legendary Ford Flatheads Racing Association.

Jerry King, Carlton Pugh and Garland Ricketts rounded out the top-five finishers in that race.

Legendary Flatheads
1 2 Bill Blair
2 66 Harry Hale
3 33 Jerry King
4 55 Carlton Pugh
5 80 Garland Ricketts
6 22 Tom Corns
7 V8 Bobby Apple
8 1 Bill Daniels




95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook