South Boston Speedway
Tickets Contact Us Join Us on Facebook
Home News Schedule Points Results Photos/Video Drivers About South Boston Speedway Rules Directions Sponsors Accomodations

Results > 2009 Results Archive > August 1, 2009

Falk Scores First SBS Win

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. - C.E. Falk, III scored his first win of the season here Saturday night, winning the Imagine Halifax 150 NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model Stock Car Division race.

Falk, from Virginia Beach, Va., took the lead from Nick Smith of Hampton, Va. with 17 laps to go. He then survived a late bid from veteran Eddie Johnson of Midlothian, Va. who bolted from his 18th starting position to catch him with five laps to go.

Johnson pulled alongside of Falk on the final lap and Falk edged Johnson by less than a car length, with Falk's official margin of victory being .031 seconds.

Smith finished third with Jonathan Cash of Oxford, N.C. finishing fourth and former track champion, Brandon Butler of Sutherland, Va. rounding out the top five finishers.

Ronald Hill of Rougemont, N.C., Laura Hayes of Wilton, Cal., Scott Worley of Long Island, Va., Doug Godsey of Richmond, Va. and Rick Gdovic of Yorktown, Va. completed the top ten finishers.

The race featured four lead changes among four drivers with Falk leading twice for a total of 70 laps. Pole winner Philip Morris of Ruckersville, Va. led the first 15 laps but a flat right front tire took the defending NASCAR national champion out of contention.

Godsey and Smith also led in the race.

Track points leader Deac McCaskill of Raleigh, N.C.  finished 18th in the 23 car starting field after being sidelined with mechanical issues following a spin on lap 119.

Falk, who scored his eighth win of the season overall with the win, averaged 67.416 mph in the race that took 53 minutes and 56 seconds to complete.

Late Model
1 40 C.E. Falk III
2 57 Eddie Johnson
3 88 Nick Smith
4 90 Jonathan Cash
5 29 Brandon Butler
6 74 Ronald Hill
7 22 Laura Hayes
8 1 Scott Worley
9 05 Doug Godsey
10 64 Rick Gdovic
11 3 Lee Pulliam
12 50 Lawrence Boan
13 91 David Quackenbush
14 00 Richard Boswell
15 77 Michael Hardin
16 44 Justin Johnson
17 03 Kenny Forbes
18 08 Deac McCaskill
19 26 Philip Morris
20 83 Eric Winslow
21 8 Josh Oakley
22 47 Mike Looney
23 28 Chad McCoy




Pembelton Takes Limited Sportsman Win

Brian Pembelton of Amelia, Va. pulled away from Danny Willis Jr. of Cluster Springs, Va. on the final lap to win the 50-lap Limited Sportsman Division race.

Pembelton and Willis waged a tough battle over the final 20 laps with Pembelton moving under Willis to take the lead with three laps to go. Once Pembelton cleared Willis, he set sail, finishing 1.186 second ahead of Willis to score his fifth win of the season.

Brandon Gdovic of Yorktown, Va., Tommy Peregoy of Red Oak, Va. and Jeb Burton of Halifax. Va. completed the top five finishers.

George Spencer of Halifax, Va., Richard Storm of Partlow, Va., Charles Barnes of Chase City, Va., Joel Covington of Halifax, Va. and Justin Snow of Danville, Va. rounded out the top ten finishers.

Pembelton, the division points leader, averaged 42.443 mph in the race that was slowed by one caution period.

Limited Sportsman
Pos # Driver
1 00 Brian Pembelton
2 23 Danny Willis, Jr
3 46 Brandon Gdovic
4 2 Tommy Peregoy
5 27 Jeb Burton
6 03 George Spencer
7 07 Richard Storm
8 64 Charles Barnes
9 8 Joel Covington
10 7 Justin Snow
11 78 Greg DeJarnette
12 39 Mike Jones




Jack Milam Wins Pure Stock Race

Jack Milam of Ringgold, Va. took the lead from Jarrett Milam of Ringgold, Va. with 17 laps to go and held on to win the 30-lap race for the Budweiser Pure Stock Division.

Mickey Cassidy of Ringgold, Va. finished third with Quain Moore of Callands, Va. and Bruce Mayo of Halifax, Va. rounded out the top five finishers.

Division points leader Chris Crosby of Raleigh, N.C. ran in the top three for most of the race only to see the engine in his car erupt with one lap to go. Crosby finished tenth.

Budweiser Pure Stock
Pos # Driver
1 58 Jack Milam
2 50 Jarrett Milam
3 93 Mickey Cassidy
4 84 Quain Moore
5 00 Bruce Mayo
6 11 Amber Glass
7 61 Jimmy Wade
8 2 Kenny Mills
9 75 Daniel Crews
10 9 Chris Crosby
11 29 Stuart Crews
12 3 Nathan Crews
13 91 Courtney Crosby
14 12 Randy Hupp
15 81 Dean Moore

Blair Wins Legendary Ford Flatheads Racing Association Event

Bill Blair won the 20-lap race for the Legendary Ford Flatheads Racing Association with Randy Apple taking the runner-up spot.

Garland Ricketts of Clover, Va. finished third and took the top spot in the Sportsman Division.

Legendary Flatheads
Pos # Driver
1 2 Bill Blair
2 V8 Randy Apple
3 80 Garland Ricketts
4 66 Harry Hale
5 22 Tom Corns
6 55 Carlton Pugh
7 1 Bill Daniels




95.3 WHLF-FM


SoBo on Twitter SoBo on Facebook